Book Giveaway: Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison!

Courtesy of Tor Books, I have a copy of Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison! by Harry Harrison for one (1) lucky winner!

Contest is open to US residents only. No PO Boxes please. To enter, just fill out the form below. Contest ends December 5. I’ll draw a name on December 6, and notify winner via email.

ENTER DAILY TO INCREASE YOUR CHANCE OF WINNING!

Good luck!

Read moreBook Giveaway: Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison!

Fantasy Book Review: Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon

Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon by Lindsay Cummings

Synopsis:
When eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.

Review:
First in a new fantasy series for young readers, The Fires of Calderon is a fun read for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Albert is an average boy with a thirst for adventure. He and his friends receive magical abilities as a part of the Balance Keeper training program. However, Albert’s is a bit of a mystery. Albert and his friends feel like they need to prove themselves right away, thanks to a bully. And Albert feels an extra incentive to do his best as he hears about a danger encroaching on New York, where the rest of his family is living. There is plenty of adventure, suspense, mystery, and humor in this first, exciting installment. And I look forward to more of Alberts adventures in this cute, lighthearted series.

Book Giveaway: Halo: Broken Circle

Courtesy of Gallery Books, I have a copy of Halo: Broken Circle by John Shirley for one (1) lucky winner!

Contest is open to US residents only. No PO Boxes please. To enter, just fill out the form below. Contest ends December 5. I’ll draw a name on December 6, and notify winner via email.

ENTER DAILY TO INCREASE YOUR CHANCE OF WINNING!

Good luck!

Read moreBook Giveaway: Halo: Broken Circle

Fantasy Book Review: Unmade

Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan

Synopsis:
Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied to a boy she does not, and faces an enemy more powerful than ever before. With Jared missing for months and presumed dead, Kami must rely on her new magical link with Ash for the strength to face the evil spreading through her town.

Rob Lynburn is now the master of Sorry-in-the-Vale, and he demands a death. Kami will use every tool at her disposal to stop him. Together with Rusty, Angela, and Holly, she uncovers a secret that might be the key to saving the town. But with knowledge comes responsibility—and a painful choice. A choice that will risk not only Kami’s life, but also the lives of those she loves most.

Review:
Jared has been locked away by his father, with almost everyone assuming that he’s dead. Kami is now linked to Ash instead of Jared. And the fallout of Rob’s proclamations has torn apart the town. Kami and her friends must face off once again against evil – unsure of their power and abilities.

Unmade is the final installment in the Lynburn Legacy trilogy. It starts off with quite a bit of suspense with Jared being held captive, and only builds from there. This exciting conclusion doesn’t disappoint – with a roller coaster of emotions and thrills. Brennan’s characters are vivid and fun. The humor in the midst of the dark events is reminiscent of the Teen Wolf tv show – snarky yet intense. This YA fantasy series is one I won’t soon forget.

Received in October

The following are the books, DVDs, and Blu-Rays I received in October for review and/or giveaways:

Blu-Ray / DVD:
Breaking at the Edge
The Prince Blu-ray

Ace:
Coming Home by Jack McDevitt

Amazon Publishing / 47North:
Marked by Sarah Fine
Under Different Stars by Amy A. Bartol
Ourselves by S.G. Redling

BBC Books:
Doctor Who: The Secret Lives of Monsters by Justin Richards

Bloomsbury:
The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

Crown Publishing / Broadway Books:
Sleepy Hollow: Children of the Revolution by Keith R.A. DeCandido
Sleepy Hollow: The Secret Journal of Ichabod Crane by Alex Irvine

Daw:
The Future Falls by Tanya Huff
Impulse by Dave Bara

Disney Hyperion:
The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan
This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman

Gallery Books:
Things Half in Shadow by Alan Finn

Harlequin Teen:
The Stepsister’s Tale by Tracy Barrett

Harper Voyager:
Gideon by Alex Gordon
On Her Majesty’s Behalf by Joseph Nassise
Fish Tails by Sheri S. Tepper

Macmillan Teen / Roaring Brook Press / Henry Holt / FSG / Feiwel and Friends:
Skandal by Lindsay Smith
Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier
The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
The Stolen Moon by Rachel Searles
Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks
Beastkeeper by Cat Hellisen
The Book of Storms by Ruth Hatfield
Witherwood Reform School by Obert Skye
Shutter by Courtney Alameda
Stone in the Sky by Cecil Castellucci
Nap time with Theo & Beau by Jessica Shyba
The Rule of Three: Fight for Power by Eric Walters

Night Shade Books:
Evensong by John Love

Paizo:
Pathfinder RPG: Advanced Class Guide

Pocket Books:
Star Trek: Voyager: Acts of Contrition by Kirsten Beyer
Star Trek: Seekers: Point of Divergence by Dayton Ward

Pyr:
Originator by Joel Shepherd
Covenant’s End by Ari Marmell

St. Martin’s Press / Thomas Dunne Books:
The Terminals by Royce Scott Buckingham
Loop by Karen Akins

Subterranean Press:
Grand Crusades: The Early Jack Vance, Volume Five by Jack Vance
The Burglar Who Counted the Spoons by Lawrence Block

Titan Books:
Grimm: The Killing Time by Tim Waggoner

Tor:
Touch of Evil by Cathy Clamp
Hawk by Steven Brust
The Eterna Files by Leanna Renee Hieber
Willful Child by Steven Erikson
Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison! by Harry Harrison
Lowball edited by George R. R. Martin and Melinda Snodgrass
Echo 8 by Sharon Lynn Fisher
The Collected Stories of Frank Herbert by Frank Herbert

Tor Teen / Starscape:
The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons
The Tree of Water by Elizabeth Haydon
Revolution by Jenna Black

Zenith Press:
The Art of Space by Ron Miller

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com