Fantasy Book Review: Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon

Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon by Lindsay Cummings

Synopsis:
When eleven-year-old Albert Flynn follows a mysterious map deep into the woods, and then under the woods, he discovers he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for keeping harmony in fantastical underground worlds. Together with his teammates Leroy and Birdie, Albert must master his magical talents in time to stop the fires in the Calderon Realm from destroying New York City above.

Review:
First in a new fantasy series for young readers, The Fires of Calderon is a fun read for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Albert is an average boy with a thirst for adventure. He and his friends receive magical abilities as a part of the Balance Keeper training program. However, Albert’s is a bit of a mystery. Albert and his friends feel like they need to prove themselves right away, thanks to a bully. And Albert feels an extra incentive to do his best as he hears about a danger encroaching on New York, where the rest of his family is living. There is plenty of adventure, suspense, mystery, and humor in this first, exciting installment. And I look forward to more of Alberts adventures in this cute, lighthearted series.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com